Bob Marley and the Wailers - Songs of Freedom (1992)

Home > Music > Bob Marley and the Wailers > Songs of Freedom


Album Cover - Bob Marley and the Wailers - Songs of Freedom

Songs of Freedom was originally released as a limited edition of one million copies in 1992. The set consists of four cds and an excellent booklet. Shortly after being released, this collection soon became hard to get hold of. However, it was re-released in 1999.

This collection follows Bob Marley's career chronologically, from his early ska recordings, through his experimental work with Lee Scratch Perry to the world famous reggae of his later years. The final track on this collection is a live version of "Redemption Song" recorded live in Pittsburgh during his last ever concert.

Songs of Freedom does not ever try to be a greatest hits collection but more of a well thought out history of the music of Bob Marley. Many well known tracks are included but most of these are in the form of previously unavailable takes, remixes or live renditions. The collection also features several unreleased tracks such as the "Acoustic Medley" on disc two.



Disc 1

  1  Judge Not
  2  One Cup Of Coffee
  3  Simmer Down
  4  I'm Still Waiting
  5  One Love/People Get Ready (Original)
  6  Put It On
  7  Bus Dem Shut (Pyaka)
  8  Mellow Mood (Original)
  9  Bend Down Low
10  Hypocrites
11  Stir It Up (Original)
12  Nice Time
13  Thank You Lord (Original)
14  Hammer
15  Caution
16  Back Out
17  Soul Shake Down Party
18  Do It Twice
19  Soul Rebel
20  Sun Is Shining
21  Don't Rock The Boat
22  Small Axe
23  Duppy Conqueror
24  Mr. Brown

Disc 2

  1  Screw Face
  2  Lick Samba
  3  Trenchtown Rock (Alternate Mix)
  4  Craven Choke Puppy
  5  Guava Jelly
  6  Acoustic Medley
  7  I'm Hurting Inside (Alternate Mix)
  8  High Tide Or Low Tide
  9  Slave Driver
10  No More Trouble
11  Concrete Jungle
12  Get Up Stand Up
13  Rastaman Chant
14  Burnin' And Lootin'
15  Iron Lion Zion
16  Lively Up Yourself
17  Natty Dread
18  I Shot The Sheriff (Live)

Disc 3

  1  No Woman No Cry (Live At The Roxy)
  2  Who The Cap Fit
  3  Jah Live
  4  Crazy Baldheads
  5  War
  6  Johnny Was
  7  Rat Race
  8  Jammin' (12in Mix)
  9  Waiting In Vain (Advert Mix)
10  Exodus (12in Mix)
11  Natural Mystic
12  Three Little Birds (Alternate Mix)
13  Running Away
14  Keep On Moving (London Version)
15  Easy Skanking
16  Is This Love (Horns Mix)
17  Smile Jamaica
18  Time Will Tell

Disc 4

  1  Africa Unite
  2  Survival
  3  One Drop
  4  One Dub
  5  Zimbabwe
  6  So Much Trouble In The World
  7  Ride Natty Ride (12in Mix)
  8  Babylon System
  9  Coming In From The Cold (12in Mix)
10  Real Situation
11  Bad Card
12  Could You Be Loved (12in Mix)
13  Forever Loving Jah
14  Rastaman Live Up
15  Give Thanks And Praise
16  One Love/People Get Ready (12in Mix)
17  Why Should I
18  Redemption Song (Live In Pittsburgh)


Tracklisting - Anniversary Edition

Album Cover - Bob Marley and the Wailers - Songs of Freedom

In 2005, Songs of Freedom was re-issued in a limited "Anniversary Edition" to commemorate the 60th anniversary of Bob Marley's birth. This version includes the four cds described above and an 84 minute DVD of Bob Marley's life.


© 2006 Jamaica Travel and Culture .com


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional    Valid CSS!    email    Facebook Logo Share    delicious button   

Home  |  Destinations  |  Music  |  Jamaican Recipes  |  The Arts  |  Icons |  About Us |  Further Reading  |  Links  |  Search
Montego Bay
Ocho Rios
Port Antonio
More Destinations....
Bob Marley
Sean Paul
Black Uhuru
Beenie Man
More Artists....
Jamaican Recipes
Jerk Chicken
Ackee and Saltfish
Rice and Peas
Beef Patties
Curry Chicken
The Arts
The Harder They Come
Dancehall Queen
Power Game
Small Island
Jamaican Flag
Marcus Garvey
About Us
Further Reading
Bob Marley Biography
Early Years
First Recordings
First Big Contract
Bob Marley and the Wailers
Assasination Attempt
Early Recordings
The Best of the Wailers
The Best of the Wailers
One Love at Studio One
One Love at Studio One
Destiny: Rare Ska Sides From Studio One
Destiny: Rare Ska Sides From Studio One
The Complete Upsetter Collection
The Complete Upsetter Collection
Studio Albums
Catch a Fire
Catch a Fire
Natty Dread
Natty Dread
Rastaman Vibration
Rastaman Vibration
Live Albums
Live at the Lyceum
Live at the Lyceum
Babylon By Bus
Babylon By Bus
Talkin' Blues
Talkin Blues
Live at the Roxy
Live at the Roxy
Noteworthy Compilations
Songs of Freedom
Songs of Freedom
Natural Mystic
Natural Mystic
Chant Down Babylon
Chant Down Babylon