Port Henderson, St Catherine
Tel: (1 876) 988-1063 (Rodney Arms)
Port Henderson was established in the late 18th century as a port town and received the fast ferry to Spanish Town (Jamaica's capital at the time). The town became very fashionable during the 19th century, not least because of its natural spa. The town gradually fell out of favour and was badly damaged by hurricane Charlie in 1951, which destroyed the famous spa. Nowadays Port Henderson is a peaceful fishing village. The main attraction for visitors today is the collection of Georgian Buildings which have been carefully restored by the Jamaican National Trust. Restored buildings and ruins include the Green Castle Great House, the Apostles Battery, Gun Emplacement, Bullock's Lodge and the Longhouse.
Rodney Arms RestaurantThe most notable of the restored buildings is the Old Water Police Station which is now home to the Rodney Arms restaurant, named after the Admiral George Brydges Rodney who successfully fought off the French invasion of Jamaica in 1782. Rodney lived a quarter of a mile uphill from the coast where the elevation provided an excellent vantage point. The site is now called Rodney's lookout.
The Rodney Arms Restaurants serves exclusively fresh fish, with the usual traditional accompaniments of bammy, festival and rice and peas. As well as serving delicious fresh fish, the Rodney Arms also boasts spectacular views of the Kingston coastline across the harbour.
© 2008 Jamaica Travel and Culture .com